Discover the 18 municipalities of the aml

The Lisbon metropolitan area encompasses 18 municipalities: Alcochete, Almada, Amadora, Barreiro, Cascais, Lisboa, Loures, Mafra, Moita, Montijo, Odivelas, Oeiras, Palmela, Seixal, Sesimbra, Setúbal, Sintra and Vila Franca de Xira.
It is the most populous area in the country, with 2,871,133 inhabitants (2021 census), grouped into two sub-regions: Greater Lisbon and the Setúbal Peninsula.

The municipality in the metropolitan area with the most inhabitants is Lisbon (544,851), followed by Sintra (385,954) and Cascais (214,134). The municipalities with the least population are Alcochete (19,148), Sesimbra (52,465) and Montijo (55,732).

Updated on 14/11/2023
To top